Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table

What this agreement does and does not disclose, and why that gap matters when you are comparing what a card costs.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table
Balance transfer APR19.24%
Cash advance APR28.49%
Penalty APR29.99%
Annual fee$95
Late payment feeup to $40
Foreign transaction feeNone
Cash advance feeEither $10 or 5% of the amount of each transaction, whichever is greater.
Balance transfer feeEither $5 or 5% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater.
Minimum interest charge$0

Analysis

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table, as filed by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, carries a $95 annual fee and a 29.99% penalty rate.

The disclosed terms

Cardmember Agreement Rates and Fees Table is one of the agreements JPMORGAN Chase Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs 22 pages.

The filing is explicit about a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a purchase rate and a grace period.

Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.

What a missed payment costs

The agreement discloses penalty pricing of 29.99% — about the 61st percentile of the 794 penalty rates recorded across this index.

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $40, which is around the 72nd percentile here.

The fee structure

Holding the card costs $95 a year before any transaction takes place — about the 92nd percentile among agreements in this index that state a fee.

Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 28.49%. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.

Balance transfers cost $5 or 5% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater up front and then accrue at 19.24%. On $2,000 that fee is about $100 before any interest is charged.

No foreign transaction fee is charged, which puts this filing in the roughly 22% of disclosing agreements here that do not take a cut of overseas spending.

Paying in full

The filing sets the minimum interest charge at zero — small balances are not rounded up to a floor.

The issuer's other agreements

26 separate JPMORGAN Chase Bank filings appear in the corpus.

What you cannot learn from the filing

Absent from the captured terms: a purchase rate and a grace period. The original document is the place to look for any of these.

What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.

The document itself

The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs 22 pages. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.

In short

The $95 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves. Extraction confidence here is not high, so the conclusions above are provisional on the PDF agreeing with them.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement JPMORGAN Chase Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by JPMORGAN Chase Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Other cards from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

All 26 agreements from JPMORGAN Chase Bank

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.