Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 21% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | $0 |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $0.5 |
Analysis
The Retail Charge Agreement VT04 R filing from Preferred Credit sets out a 21% purchase APR. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 46th percentile.
On the face of the filing
What follows is drawn entirely from Preferred Credit's CFPB filing for Retail Charge Agreement VT04 R. The filing runs five pages.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a late payment maximum and a grace period. A cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate and a penalty rate are not stated.
Confidence in the parse of this filing is moderate rather than high, so the figures below are best checked against the original.
Pricing the purchase rate
Ranked against the corpus, this purchase APR — 21% — sits at approximately the 46th percentile and is about typical for the filings collected here.
What a balance actually costs
The purchase rate turns a $2,000 revolving balance into roughly $467 of annual interest.
A typical filing in this index would charge about $492 on that balance; this one is roughly $25 a year below it.
Broken down to a single thirty-day cycle, the same balance accrues roughly $34.81.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
When a payment is late
$0 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 2nd percentile of the set.
Paying in full
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 25 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing.
The $0.50 minimum interest charge means the effective cost of carrying a very small balance is far higher than the quoted APR implies.
The issuer's other agreements
Preferred Credit has 124 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 17.99% to 21.99%; this filing's 21% sits above 80 of the comparable ones.
What the filing does not tell you
Absent from the captured terms: anything about cash advances, balance transfer terms, an annual fee and a foreign transaction fee. The original document is the place to look for any of these.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Where the authority sits
The original filing, 5 pages long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.
In short
At 21% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Given the parsing confidence on this filing, read the agreement itself before treating any of these figures as settled.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Preferred Credit filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Preferred Credit, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Preferred Credit
-
Pricing Addendum VT06 R
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21%
-
Retail Charge Agreement VT05 R
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21%
-
Retail Charge Agreement/ Security Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21%
-
Consumer Paper/ Retail Charge Agreement/ Security Agreement
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 21%–21.99%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.