Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 19.99% (variable) |
|---|---|
| Balance transfer APR | 19.99% |
| Cash advance APR | 23.99% |
| Annual fee | $25 |
| Late payment fee | up to $39 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 2% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $4 or 3% of the amount of each |
| Balance transfer fee | $0 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
On the record for Tabular Foundation 6 2021: a 19.99% purchase APR and a $25 annual fee, filed by Simmons Bank. The purchase rate sits at roughly the 42nd percentile of the 4,587 agreements indexed here.
The disclosed terms
Tabular Foundation 6 2021 is one of the agreements Simmons Bank has on file with the CFPB. The filing runs one page, and It is issued on the Visa network.
On the record here: a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. A penalty rate and a grace period are not stated.
Where the purchase APR sits
Measured against every other filing on the site, 19.99% is about the 42nd percentile for purchase APR; it lands near the median.
This is disclosed as a variable rate. The number above is a snapshot: it tracks an index, so it changes without the agreement being amended.
Translating the rate into money
Put $2,000 on the card and never reduce it, and twelve months of interest at the disclosed purchase rate comes to approximately $442.
Measured against the 21.99% corpus median, the same $2,000 costs approximately $49 less per year here.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
What the card costs before you borrow
$25 a year is the disclosed annual fee, which ranks near the 78th percentile of the fees filed across this corpus.
One way to size that fee: at the card's own purchase rate of 19.99%, $25 is roughly the interest a balance of about $125 would generate in a year. The fee is a fixed cost that behaves like perpetual interest on that much debt.
For cash advances the filing discloses a cash advance fee of $4 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 23.99%. Cash is therefore 4 points dearer than buying something with the card. The grace period described below generally does not extend to cash advances, so interest on them usually begins immediately.
The transfer fee is a flat $0; transferred balances then run at 19.99%.
Foreign transactions attract 2%. On $3,000 of overseas spending that is $60, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
What a missed payment costs
$39 is the disclosed ceiling on a late payment fee, placing it near the 63rd percentile of the set.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
124 separate Simmons Bank filings appear in the corpus. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 18.25% to 28.24%, and this one at 19.99% is more expensive than 3 of them.
Among the issuer's other filings that disclose a fee, 115 of 118 come in below this card's $25.
The limits of this document
The disclosure parsed here does not state a grace period and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Go to the source
The filed PDF is linked from this page and runs one page. It is the authority for every figure summarised above; where this page and the document disagree, the document is right.
In short
At 19.99% the purchase rate is close to ordinary for this corpus; nothing in the rate table sets this filing far apart from its peers. Note that the $25 annual fee falls due whether the card is used or not.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Simmons Bank filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Simmons Bank, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Simmons Bank
-
Tabular Simmons Visa
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 11.75%–19.75%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Tabular Foundation
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 20.24%
- Annual fee
- $25
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Tabular Signature
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.25%–20.25%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
-
Tabular Red Rewards Visa
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 12.5%–20.5%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 0%
- Foreign tx fee
- 2%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.
- Application New Rates 5 1 2023 01204339…15.99%–19.99%
- Application New Rates 5 1 2023 01204339…15.99%–19.99%
- Consumer Platinum Tier 4 Terms and Fees19.99%
- Platinum Visa Card Summary of Credit Terms8.49%–19.99%
- 1 9 26 X Level B Cardholder Agreement 619.99%
- Branch Credit Card Disclosure Smart Rate11.99%–19.99%