Before you read the numbers.
This agreement prices the card as the Prime Rate plus a margin rather than as a fixed APR. The figure shown is that margin in percentage points, not an APR. The rate actually charged moves whenever Prime moves, so the cost of carrying a balance changes without the issuer amending the agreement.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Penalty APR | 36.49% |
|---|---|
| Late payment fee | up to $41 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 3% |
| Cash advance fee | Either $10 or 5% of the amount of each |
| Grace period | 23 days |
| Minimum interest charge | $2 |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
Synchrony Financial prices American Eagle Visa Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL as a margin over the Prime Rate rather than as a fixed APR, so the filing discloses the spread but not the cost. This page explains what that means and sets the other disclosed terms against the corpus.
On the face of the filing
What follows is drawn entirely from Synchrony Financial's CFPB filing for American Eagle Visa Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL. It is issued on the Visa network and the filing runs six pages.
The filing is explicit about a penalty rate, a late payment maximum, a foreign transaction fee and a grace period. A purchase rate, a cash advance rate and a balance transfer rate are not stated.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
A margin over Prime, not a rate
The rate figures in this agreement are expressed as margins over the Prime Rate rather than as absolute APRs. A margin is not a rate: the rate is the margin plus whatever Prime happens to be.
The margins captured from the filing are 36.49 points for penalty pricing.
This structure makes the card impossible to price from the filing in isolation — and deliberately so. The rate is whatever Prime is when the statement closes, plus the margin above.
The disclosure table in this document parsed only moderately cleanly; the numbers are reported as read, with that caveat attached.
When a payment is late
Late payments are capped at $41 under this filing, about the 89th percentile of late fee maximums in the corpus.
Fees, and what triggers them
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance fee of $10 or 5% of the advance, whichever is greater. The two halves of that fee cross at about $200: below it the flat $10 applies, above it the percentage does.
Foreign transactions attract 3%. On $2,000 of overseas spending that is $60, charged on top of whatever exchange rate applies.
That is at the high end of this corpus — around the 91st percentile of disclosed foreign transaction fees.
The no-interest path
Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 23 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.
A minimum interest charge of $2 applies in any cycle where interest is due, which makes very small revolving balances disproportionately expensive.
The issuer's other agreements
There are 212 filings from Synchrony Financial in this index. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 0% to 34.99%, though this particular filing does not state one in comparable form.
The limits of this document
This page cannot tell you a purchase rate, balance transfer terms and an annual fee, because the filing's disclosure table as read does not contain them.
It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.
Where the authority sits
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — six pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
Margins over Prime make this agreement legible but not priceable from the document alone. Treat the figures above as structure, and look up the current Prime Rate before drawing conclusions.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement Synchrony Financial filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by Synchrony Financial, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from Synchrony Financial
-
ABT Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%
-
Adairs Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%
-
Adorama Credit Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 34.99%
-
Amazon com Store Card Account Agreement and Pricing Addendum FINAL
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Annual fee
- $0
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed margin over Prime among cards in the same groups.