Agreements as filed with the CFPB. Not an offer of credit. How we read them
CreditCardB

1st Financial Bank USA

Mastercard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Info

The filed agreement discloses a purchase APR of 33.65%. Below: every term the document states, what it leaves out, and how the cost compares with the rest of the database.

Before you read the numbers.

The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.

Disclosed rates and fees

Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.

Terms as disclosed in the filed agreement for Mastercard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Info
Purchase APR33.65% (variable)
Introductory APR0%
Cash advance APR33.65%
Annual fee$25
Late payment feeup to $41
Cash advance feeEither $3 or 3% of the amount of each
Balance transfer feeEither $3 or 3% of the amount of each transfer, whichever is greater 
Grace period21 days

Analysis

Mastercard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Info 123122, as filed by 1st Financial Bank USA, carries a 33.65% purchase APR, a $25 annual fee and a 0% opening rate. Against the 4,587 filings on this site, that rate lands around the 79th percentile.

The disclosed terms

This page covers the agreement 1st Financial Bank USA filed for Mastercard or Visa Credit Card Pricing Info 123122. The filing runs one page.

The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, an annual fee line, a late payment maximum and a grace period. No figure appears for a balance transfer rate, a penalty rate and a foreign transaction fee.

What the promotional rate is worth

The filing discloses a 0% introductory rate, though it does not state how long the promotional period runs.

Zero-percent openings appear in roughly 458 of the filings on this site, which puts this agreement in a sizeable minority rather than a class of its own.

Once the introductory period ends the rate becomes 33.65%, which turns a lingering $1,000 balance into approximately $400 of annual interest.

Where the purchase APR sits

The purchase APR of 33.65% places this agreement around the 79th percentile of the set — it is dearer than the typical filing.

The filing marks this rate as variable, which means it moves with the index the agreement names rather than staying where it is quoted today.

This figure is the post-promotional rate. The introductory pricing is handled separately further down.

Translating the rate into money

A $2,500 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $1,000 in interest at this purchase rate.

The median purchase rate across the corpus is 21.99%; the same balance there would cost about $615. The gap — roughly $385 a year on $2,500 — is the price of this particular filing over a typical one.

Per statement cycle that is on the order of $70.08 on $2,500, which is the number that actually shows up on a bill.

These figures are arithmetic on the disclosed rate, not a quote: they assume the balance is never reduced, ignore any payments, and take no account of fees charged separately.

The fee structure

The annual fee is $25, charged whether or not the card is used. Against the filings here that disclose a fee, that sits at roughly the 78th percentile.

For scale, $25 is approximately what $74 of revolving balance would cost in interest over twelve months at this card's 33.65% rate.

Cash advances carry a cash advance fee of $3 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater and a cash advance APR of 33.65%.

Transfers are charged $3 or 3% of the amount transferred, whichever is greater, though no distinct transfer APR appears in the document. Shifting $7,500 across attracts something like $225 in fees on day one.

Default pricing

On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $41, which is around the 89th percentile here.

The grace period

Anyone clearing the statement balance inside 21 days pays no purchase interest at all under this filing. That is shorter than the 25-day corpus median.

The limits of this document

The disclosure parsed here does not state a foreign transaction fee and penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.

It is worth being explicit about scope: these filings record terms and pricing. They say nothing about rewards programmes, cardholder benefits, promotional offers or who the issuer will approve, and this review does not speculate about any of it.

Against the rest of 1st Financial Bank USA's filings

1st Financial Bank USA has 23 agreements indexed on this site. Their disclosed purchase rates run from 29.9% to 35.15%, and this one at 33.65% is more expensive than 3 of them.

Its $25 annual fee is higher than 0 of the 9 sibling filings that state one.

Go to the source

The original filing, 1 page long, is linked on this page and should be read before any figure here is acted on. It is also a snapshot: issuers refile as terms change.

In short

33.65% is an unexceptional purchase rate in this collection, and the rest of the terms follow the same pattern. The $25 annual fee is charged regardless of use, so it is a cost that applies even to an account that never revolves.

The source document

This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement 1st Financial Bank USA filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.

Open the filed agreement (PDF)

Applications are handled by 1st Financial Bank USA, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.

Go to 1st Financial Bank USA

Other cards from 1st Financial Bank USA

All 23 agreements from 1st Financial Bank USA

Where this card sits

Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:

Comparable cards from other issuers

Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.