Before you read the numbers.
The filing discloses a promotional rate alongside the ongoing rate. The figure shown here is the go-to rate that applies once the promotional period ends, because that is the rate that governs for the life of the account.
Disclosed rates and fees
Every figure below was read from this issuer's filed agreement. Anything the filing does not state is left out of this table rather than shown as zero.
| Purchase APR | 7.9% |
|---|---|
| Introductory APR | 2.99% for 6 months |
| Balance transfer APR | 7.9% |
| Cash advance APR | 7.9% |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Late payment fee | $0 |
| Foreign transaction fee | 1% |
| Grace period | 25 days |
| Network | Visa |
Analysis
The Visa Credit Card Account Opening Disclosure 7 90% filing from J S C Federal Credit Union sets out a 7.9% purchase APR, no annual fee and a 2.99% introductory rate. That purchase rate ranks near the 3rd percentile across this corpus of 4,587 filings.
On the face of the filing
J S C Federal Credit Union submitted the terms for Visa Credit Card Account Opening Disclosure 7 90% to the CFPB's agreement database; this is what they contain. The filing runs two pages, and It is issued on the Visa network.
The filing is explicit about a purchase rate, a cash advance rate, a balance transfer rate, an annual fee line and a late payment maximum. No figure appears for a penalty rate.
What the promotional rate is worth
The introductory rate is 2.99%, held for six months. It is a discount rather than a holiday — interest still accrues, just more slowly than the go-to rate.
Among the 763 filings here that disclose an introductory rate, 2.99% sits at about the 79th percentile.
Behind the promotion sits a 7.9% purchase rate. On $3,000 that is in the region of $247 a year once the window closes.
How the purchase rate compares
7.9% puts the purchase APR near the 3rd percentile across 2,280 agreements, so it is among the very cheapest figures in the whole set.
To be precise about which number this is: the filing identifies it as the rate that takes over after the introductory period, not the introductory rate.
The arithmetic of revolving
A $3,000 balance left untouched for twelve months accrues about $247 in interest at this purchase rate.
The corpus median purchase rate is 21.99%, which on the same $3,000 would cost about $738 a year. This filing saves roughly $491 annually against that benchmark.
Treat this as an illustration of what the disclosed rate does, not as a projection of a real account, which would be shaped by payments and by the fees described elsewhere in the filing.
Where the fees are
There is no annual fee. That is the common case in this corpus — about 75% of the filings that disclose an annual fee at all disclose it as $0 — so it is a baseline expectation rather than a distinguishing feature.
Taking cash against the card means a cash advance APR of 7.9%.
Transferred balances are priced at 7.9%; no separate transfer fee was captured from the filing.
Spending abroad costs an extra 1% — about $20 on $2,000 of purchases, independent of interest.
The downside terms
On the fee side, a late payment can cost up to $0, which is around the 2nd percentile here.
The grace period
Purchases carry a 25-day grace period: pay the statement in full inside it and the purchase rate never applies. That matches the 25-day median across the corpus almost exactly.
How it sits in the issuer's own range
J S C Federal Credit Union has 12 agreements indexed on this site. Across that lineup purchase rates span 8.9% to 17.9%; this filing's 7.9% sits above 0 of the comparable ones.
What is outside the disclosure
The disclosure parsed here does not state penalty pricing. Those gaps are gaps in what could be read from the filing, and the PDF may well address them in prose the rate table does not capture.
What this analysis can address is bounded by the filing: rates, fees and the terms around them. Everything a card issuer might advertise — rewards, benefits, bonuses, who qualifies — falls outside the document and outside this review.
Reading the agreement yourself
This summary stands or falls on the linked PDF — two pages. Agreements are amended over time, and the filing reflects the terms as submitted rather than as they stand today.
In short
The purchase rate of 7.9% is one of the cheaper figures in this index — the central point in the agreement's favour. With no annual fee, the cost of the account is entirely a function of whether a balance is carried.
The source document
This page is a reading of one document: the cardholder agreement J S C Federal Credit Union filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Where the two disagree, the filing is correct and this page is wrong.
Applications are handled by J S C Federal Credit Union, not by us. We do not take applications and cannot say whether you would be approved.
Other cards from J S C Federal Credit Union
-
Visa Credit Card Account Opening Disclosure 8 90%
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 8.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Visa Rewards Credit Card Account Opening Disclosure 9 90%
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 9.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Visa Credit Card Account Opening Disclosure 10 90%
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 10.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
-
Visa Rewards Credit Card Account Opening Disclosure 10 90%
Agreement filed with the CFPB
- Purchase APR
- 10.9%
- Annual fee
- $0
- Intro APR
- 2.99%
- Foreign tx fee
- 1%
Where this card sits
Groups this agreement qualifies for, by its own disclosed terms:
Comparable cards from other issuers
Closest disclosed purchase APR among cards in the same groups.